First, Introductions.

This is it guys! My first blog post. *squeals in excitement.

I think it’s a given that I’m going to be telling you the hows and whys of this endeavor, so let’s get right to it. Anyway, I bet you’ve already seen my Lamp and have an inkling of who I am. But how did the Jinni come to be?  Well, I’ve always been a reader. For as long as I can remember I’ve been reading anything and everything that had those squiggly little lines we call letters. I used to read all the books in my grandpa’s encyclopedia collection – the atlases, almanacs, and even the dictionaries and thesauruses! Because of that, I confess that I am indeed a nerd way before I discovered fiction and became a book nerd. I’m so proud of these titles, by the way! Now, seventeen (hundred) years later, I am a nerd/booknerd/writer/foodie/photographer/student/aspiring doctor. And yes, pre-med is killer.

Untitled design (1)

Why Jinni? My first name is Jeanny, pronounced jeh-nny, but as you can see from the spelling, most people pronounce it jee-knee, which is fine to me if only I had a dollar every. time. they. did. that. It used to annoy me really, but now, I’ve embraced it wholeheartedly mostly because I’ve seen what jinni means to Middle Eastern culture, which is basically one badass, demonic spirit (according to Merriam). Not that I’m demonic, but still. Also, I fell in love with the book The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker (which I will feature soon) and now here I am.

Untitled design (1)

To be honest, I used to have a lot of reservations about blogging because I am one hell of an introvert. Even on the Internet! But ever since I began my modest bookstagram and discovered great people in the community, here I am, cautiously testing the waters. I hope that you guys will have fun with me as we go on this journey together equipped with books and magic. But we all know they’re one and the same, really.

Untitled design (1)

n6.png

Leave a Reply

