The Secret History – A Review in Quotes

Hello there! Sorry for being an absentee Jinni – it’s finals week and it’s so hard to find free time. Anyway, I just finished reading The Secret History by Donna Tartt and I’m happy to announce that I am officially in a severe reading slump. *sigh

photostudio_1489563377273.jpg
Copyright. The Bookish Jinni 2017.

So what’s this I’m doing? Well, have any of you ever seen a particularly overhyped book everywhere? And you’re wondering what in the world are they talking about, is the hype really worth it? Unfortunately for me, I’ve had a bad history with overhyped books because that’s what they all are – not really living up to the hype. With all my years of book reading, I have found a great way to test the waters and see if these books are worth the time and the money – I look for quotes. I usually do this on Goodreads but then my eyes suddenly stray into the occasional spoiler or rant and it completely ruins the book for me. So I’ve decided to make these different kind of reviews as a safe, spoiler-free, rant-free place for you to find your next great read. Enjoy 🙂

THE SECRET HISTORY

Donna Tartt

Does such a thing as “the fatal flaw,” that showy, dark crack running down the middle of a life, exist outside literature? I used to think it didn’t. Now I think it does. And I think that mine is this: a morbid longing for the picturesque at all costs.”

2017-03-07-04.58.28-2.jpg.jpeg
Copyright. The Bookish Jinni 2017.

                                                                                      

       

Look at that gorgeous first line ♥ ♥

“His students – if they were any mark of his tutelage – were imposing enough, and different as they all were they shared a certain coolness, a cruel, mannered charm which was not modern in the least but had a strange cold breath of the ancient world: they were magnificent creatures, such eyes, such hands, such looks – sic oculos, sic ill manus, sic ora ferebat.”

“BEAUTY IS TERROR. WHATEVER WE CALL BEAUTIFUL, WE QUIVER BEFORE IT.”

And maybe the dawns will be less harrowing (1)

“The ceilings had set off a ghostly echo, giving all that desperate hilarity the quality of a memory even as I sat listening to it, memories of things I’d never known.”

“She was a living reverie for me: the mere sight of her sparked an almost infinite range of fantasy, from Greek to Gothic, from vulgar to divine.”

“But of course I didn’t see this crucial moment then for what it was; I suppose we never do.”

“AND ALWAYS, ALWAYS, THAT SAME TOAST. LIVE FOREVER.”

What are the dead, anyway, but waves and energy-

“Some things are too terrible to grasp at once. Other things – naked, sputtering, indelible in their horror – are too terrible to ever really grasp at all.

It is only later, in solitude, in memory, that the realization dawns: when the ashes are cold; when the mourners have departed; when one looks around and finds oneself – quite to one’s surprise – in an entirely different world.”

“I FELT DEAD IN EVERYTHING I DID”

 

IT WAS HEART-SHAKING.

♦  ♦  ♦  ♦  ♦

RATING: FIVE STARS

♥  ♥  ♥

n

PS: All quote graphics are from Canva. I just edited them 🙂

One thought on “The Secret History – A Review in Quotes

Leave a Reply

