Bone Gap – A Review

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Copyright. The Bookish Jinni. 2017

“You hope

That there is nothing left to lose, and

All there is, is there to find.”

 

Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps, but not everyone knows that within it, is one damn good story. I finished this book a couple of days ago and I can tell you, I am still reeling from the beauty of its contents. I initially had reservations about this because I thought that it was just a typical farm story with gossips and bullies and crops. Needless to say, I was proven wrong and I got to experience, to quote E. Lockhart, “magic realism at its most magical.” However, as much as I loved the magic within its pages, I am still a fantasy nerd, and it wasn’t as amazing to me as, say The Lord of the Rings would. What stuck to me in this book is the feministic tone that shaped many, if not all, of the characters of the story. I loved the fact that it emphasized the growth of Roza, as she comes to recognize her inherent strength and that she doesn’t need men to keep carrying her over puddles and that she can eat and laugh as much as she wants too. It wasn’t about her getting lost, it was about her finding herself, sprinkled with hints of magic that only made it more beautiful.

 

This book also portrayed a certain mental condition, prosopagnosia, beautifully. Finn O’Sullivan suffers from being face-blind, and all the while I was reading it, I wasn’t prepared for that news in the end. Ruby deftly weaves it into the narrative that I assumed that that was just his unique way of seeing the world. And I realized that yes, it was. I loved the fact that it wasn’t romanticized or downplayed by the author and that the people that surrounded him became his support, unlike most YA novels that often have adults left clueless when it came to mental illness. I honestly liked this more than I did Holding Up the Universe, which also had a face-blind character. Maybe because the latter was a bit too forced and I loved Finn’s personality more. But that’s my own opinion anyway.

Untitled design (1)

Bone Gap is poignant, beautiful, and sensitive. It left me feeling warm and cuddly in the end.

 

I am now also deathly afraid of corn.

♦  ♦  ♦  ♦

Rating: 4 stars

n

2 thoughts on “Bone Gap – A Review

Leave a Reply

