The Bookish Jinni’s Monday Minis

I’ve been so busy lately that I haven’t had much time to blog (or read, for that matter). I will still be busy the next few weeks so I only had time for writing these mini reviews of the ebooks that I’ve read this month. Enjoy!

Untitled design (1)

Death and Night by Roshani Chokshi – ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Here’s a confession: I haven’t read The Star-Touched Queen. Yet.33965619

I went into this novella because I wanted to make sure that I knew what I was getting into buying The Star-Touched Queen, mainly because I’ve read a lot of mixed reviews about the book. I honestly don’t mind being spoiled for it because it has given me a solid reason to go read all of Roshani Chokshi’s books. The thing is, I’m not really a romance person. And even though I’m a big fantasy person, I still had a lot of qualms about reading it because, from the synopsis, it felt a little too much like The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, which I liked, but not as much. I know many people didn’t love her books because of the romance and the prose, but I surprised myself when reading it because I turned into a squishy, squealing mush of feels and happiness that had everything to do with the book. I fell in love with the characters, the language, the setting, the dialogue – everything! I am a dark (ish) person who doesn’t believe at all in happy endings but now, I shamelessly profess my undying love for this novella and for Chokshi’s delicious writing that is as vibrant and as fascinating as the Night Bazaar itself.

And now to order those two books…

Untitled design (1)

And I Darken by Kiersten White – ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

27190613I wasn’t expecting this from a YA author. Not that I have anything against YA, I confess that I love the genre and a huge percent of the books that I read are from it. But this book had the elegance and the maturity not found in most books by YA authors. It did not hold back in terms of brutality and in exploring religion, especially Islam. And it succeeded in breathing new life to the classic Dracula legend in a way that made it relevant to the modern world through its poignant portrayal of LGBTQ and feminist characters – modern characters that fit seamlessly into a traditional setting. I believe much has been said about the plot and its characters, but I would just like to add that this is a highly recommended addition to any library that needs diverse books.

Untitled design (1)

Ninth Circle by C.A. Harland – ♦ ♦ ♦ ◊

34861977This book was an intense, action-packed, fast-paced page turner that’s similar to The Mortal Instruments (which i didn’t like) except the characters are adults. It’s a story about demon hunter siblings living in Ireland. One works in a library and the other two work as paranormal detectives, eager to stay true to their roots. When one of them goes missing, they search for her among the demon circles that act as gangs in the city. I really loved the unique personalities of the sisters – they were memorable and developed well throughout the novel. It had A LOT of action scenes that I think will translate well in television. The writing was pretty good, although it wasn’t special. Over all, this was a quick and easy read, perfect for fans of urban fantasy.

Untitled design (1)

Den of Shadows by Christopher Byford – ♦ ♦ ♦ ◊

34859647 (1)It was like The Night Circus sans the romance and the whimsy. And that’s not bad! I loved the premise and the setting of the story – about a train that offers one great night to remember to erase all the other bad ones spent in the middle of a sea of sand. It was a great slow burn of a novel and I loved how it started out as if the train was magical and invincible but it it turns out that the people behind it, who were the reason behind the magic, are only human after all. Somehow, it felt to me like The Great Gatsby if it were set in the midwest because of the opulence and the tragedy of the characters. But the prose – THE PROSE. I didn’t really mind if it there were times when it was a bit slow and dragging, I loved the writing and the world building so much it felt like this book was too short for me. The author really had a talent in setting the mood for the reader and I remember squeaking with delight after I read the first few pages. Nevertheless, this was one of those books that I forget quite easily. I am looking forward to the sequel though and hoping that the story will take the readers deeper into the world of The Gambler’s Den.
Untitled design (1)
Happy reading!
the-bookish-jinni
Leave a Reply

